The Power of Poetry

Jennifer Simpson
2 min readFeb 7, 2024

A stirring

Photo by Nareeta Martin on Unsplash

In my last article, I talked about the power of nature to push us beyond our comfort zone and open us to new ideas and ways of thinking.

I also shared Alone in the Desert, the third segment of my book.

For those of you reading along, you know that throughout the book, I use art, poetry, and other forms of creative writing to “loosen up” otherwise rigid or fixed thinking in ways that are intended to allow the reader to explore new ideas and break the hold of well-worn beliefs. I use these short passages of poetry and prose to periodically inspire, provoke, or nudge us out of any reverie and remind us that opportunities to challenge our own thinking are all around us.

Here’s one that reminds me, regularly, that discomfort is just an invitation to curiosity, and that the “good stuff” often lies on the other side.

A Stirring

Most everything that matters

Is preceded

By a stirring so subtle

That it may go unnoticed

Unless one knows

To listen

For its low hum

Of foreshadowing

The stirring is meant

--

--

Jennifer Simpson

An artist, poet, leader, lover, daughter, sister, and mother living in Boulder, Colorado. Owner and CEO at Integrated Work. Author of the KOAN method.